Subscribe to our Newsletter for exclusive offers!

KA-BAR 1483 TDI Law Enforcement 3-11/16" Combat Black Combo Edge Drop Point - 2-1483-7

Customer Reviews 4.800 Read 5 reviewsWrite a Review
Part Number: KA1483
Manufacturer: KA-BAR Knives
Retail Price: $72.51
Our Price:
$48.95
You Save: $23.56 (32%)
Calculate Shipping

Earn 489.5 points for this product.

Model: KA1483: TDI Law Enforcement Combat Knife w/ Black Serrated Blade
The TDI Law Enforcement Knife was designed by an officer with officers in mind.

Benner has trained thousands of law enforcement personnel since founding TDI in 1986. Prior to that time he served as Lieutenant of the Village of Fairfax Police Department, Coordinator of the Drug Abuse Reduction Task Force, and Tactical Field Commander of the Hamilton County Police Association Special Weapons and Tactics Team (S.W.A.T.). John has developed courses for raid tactics, tactical weapons instructor schools, defensive tactics and knife programs that are currently taught to law enforcement, military and civilian groups.
The TDI Law Enforcement Knife was designed to be used as a "last option" knife. In extreme close quarters encounters where a suspect is attempting to take an officer's handgun, or the officer cannot access his/her handgun, the TDI Knife is available. Designed as an "off hand" knife that draws like a pistol, the reversible sheath can be worn on either the right or left side of the officer's pant belt.

Specifications:

  • Blade Length: 3-11/16"
  • Overall Length: 7-9/16"
  • Blade Style: Serrated Edged Black Blade
  • Blade Material: AUS-8A Stainless Steel w/ Black Powder Coating
  • Handle Material: Zytel
  • Weight: .4 lb.
  • Carrying Mechanism: Hard Plastic Friction Sheath
Sheath Basics:
  • Sheath designed to fit police officer's pant belt (1-5/8" wide.)
  • Knife and sheath unit designed to be worn on the belt on the opposite side from firearm.
  • Friction sheath locks knife in place.
  • Knife draws from sheath like a pistol from a holster.
  • Enclosed sheath is assembled to be mounted on left side.
Zytel Handles
Zytel Handles
A nylon polymer that is lightweight and extremely durable, Zytel can be shaped and textured to provide excellent grip.
4.800 (5 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4 out of 5
Bill A
Lansing, MI
Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great knife, good sheath, lousy belt clip.
I purchased the TDI as an EDC backup/neck knife. The weight and ergonomics make it easy to slip into a jeans pocket, or my backpack. The blade was sufficiently sharp out of the box, but could stand a professional sharpening. As several other reviews have pointed out the sheath is not ideal, but my personal issue is with the removable belt clip rather than the sheath itself. The clip does not come already attached which given the TDI's intended use as a neck knife makes sense. However Ka-Bar does not include a Torx wrench for the incredibly tiny attachment screws. I had to search through a friends precision screwdriver kit to get one. The belt clip it self is spring steel and not adjustable for anything other than upright or inverted carry. The clip does not fit onto the heavy leather belts I use nor does it fit into the molle webbing on my Maxpedition bags. Over all I really like the knife, the sheath is adequate, but Ka-Bar really needs to look at a different belt attachment option to include.
5 out of 5
Charles A B
Philadelphia, Pa
Sep 06, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Fast Shipping
I purchased this knife as a gift for a friend. I placed my order on 9-5-13 and received the next day Friday 9-6-13. Excellent customer service and super fast shipping. I've used The Knife Center in the past and hope to continue doing business with them in the future. I opened the box and everything appears to be as advertised. Black and Gold cardboard box in black letters KBD under that in gold Master Series. Weight of package is substantial meaning not a kids toy. I apologize to anyone wanting to know more about the knife but it's a gift. I wanted to thank The Knife Center for sending it so quickly and free.
5 out of 5
Big Dawg
So Cal
Apr 19, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Eggg celent
Without a doubt the best fixed blade I hsve owned so far. Sharper than a ginsu n tuffer than nails. You won't be disappointed.
Read all 5 Reviews »
Loading Reviews

© 1995-2014 by Howard Korn and KnifeCenter Inc. All rights reserved.

5201 Lad Land Dr, Fredericksburg, VA 22407 - 800.338.6799 (Phone Orders Welcome)